Modern Warfare MW2 Thoughts

February 8, 2010 at 10:11 (Cool, Games/Video Games, Modern Warfare 2, XBOX/XBOX LIVE)

OK, so this weekend I played a lot. Yeah, I know, not a surprise. I started noticing that there were some games, many times one after the other, where I never won any confrontation I engaged in. I mean it didn’t even matter if I snuck up behind the guy and fired a hundred rounds, I never won. Then a couple of games later and I was back to the normal game play. So while this may not be news to anyone else out there, to me it was an eye-opener. So here are the items you need, in order of importance, to be able to do well at Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2:

1. You have to know HOW to play the game, and you have to be functional with the controller and electronic games in general. Knowing how to play the game includes the basic rules of the online play types and also to have at least a fundamental grasp of military style tactics and strategy and how to employ your weapons.
2. You have to have a good, solid internet connection. If you have a good solid internet connection and are hardwired, preferably close to a main trunk/switch/etc, then you will beat the other guy in a face-off every single time. If your signal drops or your connection slows down you’re done. And avoid a wireless connection. That slight extra lag will be your undoing. Nothing you can do about teh crappy connections on the host end though. That sucks sometimes.
3. Buy a headset. It doesn’t have to be top of the line, but you need to be able to hear. It will take you a few days to get used to the sounds, but it will be worth it in the end. Personally, I was amazed at the sounds in the games now. I’ve played on mute or low volume for so long I forgot they even had sounds. You could get Ear Force X1 Stereo Headset with Chat for less than 50 bucks. I use the X3 myself.
4. Watch Youtube videos. Some of the guys that have been playing for a while or that get paid to play post Youtube videos. Some of those are extremely helpful.
5. This one only applies to those of us that sweat a lot. I had issues with my fingers slipping on the controller, so I got a cheap fix – baby powder. It works, so try it!
6. You can rate players and add them to your ‘avoid list’. I had to do that with a guy last night on Mercenary TDM. He tried to run up and steal my care package, and then tried to kill me. Luckily, in that particular game supposedly friendly fire doesn’t count. If it did I would have spent the rest of the game stalking him. Add the bad ones to your avoid list and try and befriend or recommend the good ones. The system will try and team you up with the good ones, and keep you out of games with the bad ones.

That’s just my take on it anyway. People will abuse that last one though. I called out some boosters the other day and they both rated me as avoid. I try and slaughter boosters whenever possible.

Leave a Reply

